Download the Primary Curriculum Map


Register for the launch event

Primary Curriculum Music Progress and Curriculum Map Launch

Durham Music Service (lead partner in the Durham and Darlington Music Education Hub) have created a Primary Music Progress Map, to form the basis of the music curriculum. 

It is based around 2 key areas:

  1. Building Blocks (key knowledge)
  2. Strands of Learning (how pupils demonstrate the knowledge)

At it’s heart is the musical glossary (key vocabulary) and how to show this in a practical way, by using and demonstrating this key vocabulary to build knowledge.  

Music is a skills based subject and must be engaged with and taught practically. We demonstrate this through the spiral of learning, adding to musical concepts throughout the curriculum but ensuring previous knowledge and skills continue to be developed.

The full guide will be launched on September 24th 9am at Durham Learning Centre, but the progress map, age related expectations and glossary is available NOW to download in order to inform planning for September 2019. 

Throughout the year network meetings and CPD will centre around this map ensuring an in-depth understanding of the music curriculum.

Click here to download

Training on the progress map:

24th 9 - 12 Launch event - overview, age related tasks.

Primary Network meetings

8th October 1:30 - 16:00 Autumn Primary Network Meeting

25th March 9:00 - 12:30 Spring Primary Network Meeting 

25th June 9:00 - 12:30 Summer Primary Network Meeting